2024 Waitemata Open

2024 Waitemata Open

Saturday 18th & Sunday 19th May 2024

Saturday 18th May

9am         Under 9 Singles & Under 13 Singles

1pm         Under 11 Singles & Under 15 Singles

3pm         Under 19 Singles

Sunday 19th May 

9am         B grade Singles & D Grade Singles & Graded Doubles

1pm         Open Men’s & Open Women’s Singles & C grade Singles, Open Doubles


Players may play in 1 singles event in each time slot e.g. Open Singles or C Grade Singles, u11 or u15 Singles.
Note: Players may play in both Graded Doubles and Open Doubles.


Entry via TTNZ Tournament Software website

2023 Waitemata Open Results

The 2023 Waitemata Open was played on the 29th and 30th of July 2023

This was the largest Waitemata Open ever with almost 50 more entries that last year.  The 45 local Waitemata players entered showed great support from our own Association

The highlight of the weekend was Sundays Open Men’s Top 8. The Top 8 was a new concept organised by Andrew for this years tournament, and very similar to the format of the recent North Island champs. This allows the best players to play more matches against other high-level players. 

Showing great dedication to our club Alfred Dela-Pena only arrived back in NZ 11:30am Sunday morning, but drove straight to Waitemata stadium to compete. 

Down 3-1 and 10-8 in the final Alfred Dela Pena WT fought back to win against a determined Max Henderson (NS) before a loud and supportive crowd who stayed back for the final. The game was live streamed, high quality and well received from all over New Zealand. The other semi-finalists were August Xiao and Yuhan Gao.

 The Women’s top 8 was won by Liting Guo (WT coach) who beat Jocelyn Lam. The other semi-finalists were Auroro Lim and Barb Shepp

The Open Men’s doubles was won by Dean Shu and Clark Sun, and the Women’s double was won by our own Sarah Her-Lee (WT) and her partner Jocelyn Lam

And the Open Mixed won by more of our Waitemata coaches Yuhan Gao and Liting Guo

B grade singles was won by Clark Sun (A) with Conrad Ang (WT) second. Both are part of our regular Junior coaching team. 

C grade won by Honggang Zhang (A) with Hyrum Sunnex (WK) second

D Grade won by Paul Skiffington (WT) over Paul Kyle (WK)

Graded doubles won by Barb Shepp and Hyrum Sunnex (WK)

The Under 15s boys was won by August Xiao beating Ken Chin

The Under 15 girls was won by Anya Chen who beat Jocelyn Lam

The Under 13’s Boys was won by August Xiao beating Ken Chin

The Under 13 girls was won by Anya Chen who beat Katie Chen

The Under 11 Boys was won by Lai Wei who beat George Dong

And the Under 11 Girls was won by Katie Chen who beat Gloria Fan

I want to Congratulate Andrew Palmer who ran the tournament all day Sat and Sun, and equally thank other parents, coaches and helpers like Wing Poon and family and Shaun Chun and his wife who provided food and helped run Sunday with Andrew. And other helpers like Tim Li and Cheen Ang , table runners, and to anyone we have missed Also a big thanks to other volunteers like Denise Kent & Carol Fields who came and cleaned the rubbish bins and toilets

Our juniors received great support from our coaches Alfred, Sarah & Conrad and others. And especially our juniors who stayed on to umpire matches and help out

All and all a busy and successful weekend that showcased how friendly our club is. Well done everyone!

Rodney Bygrave

Waitemata Secretary

Open Mens Singles

1st Alfred Dela-Peña

2nd Max Henderson

3rd= Yuhan Gao

3rd= August Xiao

Open Womens Singles

1st Liting Guo

2nd Jocelyn Lam

Open Mens Doubles

1st Dean Shu+Clark Sun

2nd Max Henderson+Jeffrey Guo

Open Womens Doubles

1st Sarah Her-Lee+Jocelyn Lam

2nd Liting Guo+Flanny Xue

Open Mixed Doubles

1st Yuhan Gao+Liting Guo

2nd Romy Issar+Yumin Lin

B Grade Singles

1st Clark Sun

2nd Conrad Ang

C grade Singles

1st Honggang Zhang

2nd Hyrum Sunnex

D grade Singles

1st Paul Skiffington

2nd Paul D Kyle

Grade Doubles (any grade)

1st Barb Shepp+Hyrum Sunnex

2nd Romy Issar+Paul D Kyle


1st Lai Wei

2nd George Dong


1st Katie Chen

2nd Gloria Fan

u11 doubles

1st George Dong+Lai Wei

2nd Dao Wei+Katie Chen

u13 girls

1st Anya Chen

2nd Katie Chen


1st August Xiao

2nd Ken Chin


1st Anya Chen

2nd Jocelyn Lam


1st August Xiao

2nd Ken Chin

u15 Junior Doubles

1st August Xiao+Ken Chin

2nd Edmond Haofang Jia+Zhanyi Xiong

 2022 Waitemata open results here